GIVEAWAY: Black-Eyed Susans

I recently had the pleasure of reading an advanced copy of Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin. As a born & raised Texan with close ties to Fort Worth, I was pleasantly surprised when I started reading & found that the story is set in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. The author grew up in Decatur, Texas, which is near Ponder, Texas, the setting for her previous novel Playing Dead(Author portrait by Jill Johnson)

Here is a description of Black-Eyed Susans:

For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

A girl's memory lost in a field of wildflowers.
A killer still spreading seeds.

At seventeen, Tessa became famous for being the only surviving victim of a vicious serial killer. Her testimony put him on death row. Decades later, a mother herself, she receives a message from a monster who should be in prison. Now, as the execution date rapidly approaches, Tessa is forced to confront a chilling possibility: Did she help convict the wrong man?

Of course, these days just about every mystery is compared to Gillian Flynn, author of Gone Girl. However, Julia Heaberlin earns the high praise, but is definitely her own type of author. I am a big fan of mysteries, but I don't like gore. Black-Eyed Susans was the perfect book for me because it kept me interested from page one, had me in suspense, but wasn't graphic and scary like many other suspenseful mysteries, especially one about a serial killer!

I am really looking forward to reading Julia's previous books, Lie Still and Playing Dead. All are set in Texas, but please don't let that deter you if you aren't a Texan! If you are a Texas resident, be sure to check out one of Julia's upcoming book signings celebrating the release of Black-Eyed Susans

US release date August 11th
UK release date August 14th

August 11th, 7 p.m. • Black-Eyed Susans Publication Day • Talk & Signing
Barnes & Noble - Hulen Center, 4801 Overton Ridge Blvd. #100, Fort Worth, TX

August 17th, 6:30 p.m. • Talk & Signing
Decatur Public Library, 1700 S. Hwy 51, Decatur, TX

More events listed on Julia's website.

*** GIVEAWAY - Closed - Congrats Chey-Anne Smart & @daniewoods (Instagram) ***
 PRIZE: Two lucky winners will receive a copy of
Black-Eyed Susans! (US residents only)

TO ENTER: Like author Julia Heaberlin on Facebook and leave a comment noting you have done so.

ADDITIONAL ENTRY: Share this giveaway on Facebook or another social media site, then leave a comment noting that you shared.

ADDITIONAL ENTRY: Leave a comment noting a favorite book you have recently read.

ADDITIONAL ENTRY: Visit our Instagram feed @funky_finds & like the photo of Black-Eyed Susans for an extra chance!

Giveaway ends at 6pm CST, Friday, July 31st, 2015.


morgan watson said...

I liked your facebook page. Would love to win!

Amy L said...

I liked your Facebook page - Would LOVE to win! I LOVE the authors you mentioned! Also this is totally random, but there are a bunch of Black Eyed Susan flowers in the woods behind my house in Minnesota!!

Chey-Anne Smart said...

Liked it! Done!

Carla K. said...

I liked your Facebook page. Am looking forward to reading your new book!

Tammy Woodall said...

I liked you on Facebook -

Tammy Woodall said...

I shared on Facebook -

Tammy Woodall said...

I recently read The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons. I really enjoyed it.

Tammy Woodall said...

I Follow @funky_finds on Instagram. I also liked and commented "Black Eyed Susans" (livesimply1111)

Naomi Chelsea said...

Thank you for giving posts and articles were very amazing. I really liked as a part of the article. With a nice and interesting topics. Has helped a lot of people who do not challenge things people should know. You need more publicize this because many people. Who know about it very few people know this. Success for you....!!!